Universal Psychic Guild Forum
Sign in to follow this  
GypsyMama

New Meditation Idea

I am not good at meditating. I always fall asleep and get very distracted by my thoughts if I'm simply trying to keep my mind blank... it seems to run a bazillion miles an hour, and is near impossible to "still."

So, when I was sitting outside yesterday, I had an idea that I tried. What I did was focus on each sense... sort of.... hearing, seeing, smelling, touching.... taste is too much like smell, so I left it alone. For as long as I could concentrate, I would list to myself what I was sensing.

When I was focused on "hearing", I covered my face so I couldn't see or smell easily. I made a note of every sound I could hear and where I thought it might be coming from. Nature sure makes beautiful music! :)

When I was focused on "seeing", I positioned my eyes on one thing -- in this case, the shed in our backyard -- and made a mental note of what I could see in my peripheral vision *without moving my eyes*. That was very hard to do. Different visual meditations I often do when I'm feeling low are to look for the colors of the rainbow, in order if I can, or to mentally list all the instances of light I can see. Those are two very uplifting exercises that are easy to do. :)

Focusing on smelling and on touch, I would close my eyes and again make a mental note of each individual thing I could sense.

Now, obviously, with all that mental activity, I'm not creating a blank slate for reception, like some meditations do. But, when done, I felt more aware, clearer.... and come to think of it, I saw more little circles of light yesterday. So, I suspect that even though it might not bring any psychic activity at the time (though I would think it certainly might!), it's good practice for using the sixth sense at other times... and certainly brings one more in tune with their surroundings.